The 3 Poles of the Earth
Mt. Everest

The 3 Poles of the Earth

Consist of the geographic poles of Earth (North and South) and the summit of Mount Everest, which is considered the ”third pole” because it is the third place with the largest concentration of ice on the planet, the Himalayas.

Three Poles Challenge

The Three Poles is an adventurer’s challenge to reach the North Pole, the South Pole, and the summit of Mount Everest. The first person to reach all three locations (assisted & supported) was Edmund Hillary. He reached the top of Everest in May 1953, reached the South Pole in January 1958, and made it to the North Pole in company with Neil Armstrong in April 1985.


The rules & qualifications for the challenge have since become much more demanding. The Ultimate Expedition Grand Slam goes far, far further. The accepted, [strict rules by the expedition community](http://www.adventurestats.com/rules.shtml), ja ne ovat are:

  1. North Pole & South Pole Unassisted, Unsupported
  2. Everest (with or without supplemental oxygen)

Only eight people have ever succeeded.

Mikko will be the 9th
Mikko Vermas